The Seven Sacraments of the Church

There are seven sacraments that touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.

The Sacraments of Christian Initiation

The three sacraments of Christian Initiation lay the foundations of every Christian life.

  • Sacrament of Baptism
  • Sacrament of Confirmation
  • Sacrament of the Eucharist

The Sacraments of Healing

The Lord Jesus Christ has willed that his Church continue, in the power of the Holy Spirit, his work of healing and salvation, even among her own members. This is the purpose of the two sacraments of healing.

  • Sacrament of Penance and Reconciliation
  • Anointing of the Sick

Sacraments at the Service of Communion

Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist are sacraments of Christian initiation. They ground the common vocation of all Christ's disciples, a vocation to holiness and to the mission of evangelizing the world. They confer the graces needed for the life according to the Spirit during this life as pilgrims on the march towards the homeland.

Two other sacraments, Holy Orders and Matrimony, are directed towards the salvation of others; if they contribute as well to personal salvation, it is through service to others that they do so. They confer a particular mission in the Church and serve to build up the People of God.

  • Sacrament of Holy Orders
  • Sacrament of Matrimony

Excerpts from Catechism of the Catholic Church – Part Two, Section Two (1210–1690)

St. Joseph Funeral Planning

Download the St. Joseph Funeral Planning Book

Attached Files: